Sabbatical Rest

Since I began blogging on May 31st, 2005, I have pretty much posted something a few times a week for over six years. According to my dashboard counter I have 1387 posts. Excluding the many simple links to off-site resources in print, audio, or video, those 1387 posts still represent a good number of articles on theological, pastoral, apologetic, and exegetical subjects.

When I write my more detailed articles and essays – the stuff I pray has way more lasting value – I do my best to put thought into what I am presenting. When I am writing against a particular theological position, I try to make a solid effort to frame the arguments of my detractors fairly and with accuracy. I take blogging seriously in this manner because I wish to honor the Lord first and foremost, and then I want to minister to the Body of Christ at large.

It’s that second point which truly motivates me. My heart is blessed when I check my sitemeter page and I discover someone in Akron, Ohio has spent 43 minutes looking over my articles on eschatology. I am also encouraged by commenters, both friendly and hostile, because their input helps to focus my thinking and sharpen my arguments. Plus I will say I deeply appreciate the grammar nit-pickers who lovingly email me to point out my split infinitives or whatever.

Except for the occasional vacation when I was away from a computer, and one week in 2009 when I moved to a new house, my blogging has remained uninterrupted. That’s rather impressive, even for me, seeing that most blogs maintained by a single person rarely make it two years. I can’t tell you how many times I clicked the profile page of some commenter, clicked over to his blog, and discover the last post he made was sometime in August of 2007.

With that being said, I am taking a month long break. I think I have earned it. So, from August 1 to after Labor Day, my blogging will be virtually nil. I have been revamping articles at my other website, Fred’s Bible Talk, so when I get them on-line, I can post a link. If something earth shattering comes along, I will blog it, but I don’t anticipate that happening.

This doesn’t mean I am quitting, or slowing down, or that I have come to the pious conviction that blogging is beneath a genuinely, spiritual Christian. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am just wanting some R&R. Plus, I will be around on other blogs commenting here and there.

So, until after Labor Day, I am going French.

7 thoughts on “Sabbatical Rest

  1. Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

  2. Thanks for the support. It's just a month. Think about it: All of Europe is on their state imposed month vacation, and some how they manage to survive. Then again, they may not be the best comparison, but you know what I mean.

  3. Amusez-vous pendant votre pause. Reposez-vous et à nous retourner les ongles crachant et mâchoires. D'ici là, les Philistins théologiques sera de courir de manière chaotique, et devra être sévèrement disciplinés.

  4. "And God fillide in the seuenthe dai his werk which he made; and he restide in the seuenthe dai fro al his werk which he hadde maad; and he blesside the seuenthe dai, and halewide it; for in that dai God ceesside of al his werk which he made of nouyt, that he schulde make" (Gen2:2-3 Wyc).

Leave me a Comment

