Resources on Ezekiel’s Temple

[UPDATE] I had a number of kind folks contact me after my first article on Ezekiel’s temple and they provided me with additional resources I hadn’t considered or might have forgot in the initial posting of this article. So I wanted to update my list below. Also, check the comments. One commenter provided an extensive reading list that goes beyond what I studied that may be useful for serious students.

—–

I plan to do a study for my continuing series defending premillennialism on Ezekiel’s temple vision from Ezekiel 40-48.  Those chapters are considered a major problem for the idea of a future, millennial kingdom because Ezekiel describes animal sacrifices taking place in the temple that is supposed to be built.  If he is describing a real temple, well then animal sacrifices would be a step back to the old covenant. Any thought of animal sacrifices atoning for sin diminishes Christ’s final cross work of salvation.

I believe it is an important objection to answer, so I’ll endeavor to lay out my case for why I believe Ezekiel’s temple will be a real, literal building with a reinstated Zadokian priesthood ministering with in it.

It order to utilize my time, I wanted to provide my sources for my research ahead of time so I can just have a link on hand I can refer people back  to. Additionally, just a word about comments. I certainly will welcome them agreeing and disagreeing, but I plan to finish my study first before I open comments. In other words, I’m not opening comments under each post. but will wait until I’m done. Then I will present one post that lays out and answers common objections to my position and with that post I’ll open comments. Make sense?

In the meantime, let me list my sources for my study:

Commentaries:

Expositor’s Bible Commentary, Vol. 7 – Jeremiah and Ezekiel (Ralph Alexander, Ezekiel).
NICOT series Book of Ezekiel, Vol. 2, Chapters 25-48, Daniel Block
NAC series, Ezekiel, Lamar Cooper
Prophecy of Ezekiel, Charles Feinberg
Leviticus 1-16, Jacob Milgrom

Old Testament Introductions:

An Introduction to the Old Testament, Raymond Dillard & Tremper Longman.
An Introduction to the Old Testament Prophets, Hobart Freeman
The World and the Word – An Introduction to the Old Testament,  Eugene Merrill, Mark Rooker, and Michael Grisanti. Ezekiel, pp. 394-404, Mark Rooker.

General Biblical Studies:

Answers to Jewish Objections to Jesus, Vol. 2, Michael Brown
A Proposed Solution to Animal Sacrifices in Ezekiel 40-48, Jerry Hullinger
The Greatness of the Kingdom, Alva McClain
The Temple and Bible Prophecy, Randall Price.
Christ’s Atonement and Animal Sacrifice in Israel, John Whitcomb

17 thoughts on “Resources on Ezekiel’s Temple

  1. Could have saved yourself a whole lot of exegetical labor if you’d just both an “Unreformed Covenant Theology Disgronificating Blender.” Load in dozens of items of specific revelation, and out comes “JESUS!”

  2. I am looking forward to this series and I see you are using Dr. Feinberg’s commentary on Ezek. I read his commentary on Zechariah during a time when I was open to reconsider Premillennialism about four or five years ago, and I have to say the same historical and grammatical hermeneutic that led to me to see Messianic prophecies in Christ in the OT is the same one that also points to a future of Israel as a nation in redemptive history. Anyways, I just wanted to say I am looking forward to this.

  3. Fred: I have been gathering materials on this issue for years since my amillennial friends seem to agree with what O. T. Allis when he wrote, “Here is unquestionably the Achilles heel of the Dispensational system of interpretation.” [Prophecy and the Church (Phillipsburg, NJ: Presbyterian and Reformed Publishing Co., 1945, 1947), pg. 248.] If you need additional resource material for your study let me know.

  4. Thanks. I’ll have to check out Allis’s book this evening at the library. If you have an easily accessible list, please send it along. Either here for everyone to benefit or at my email found at the profile page.

  5. Fred, I recommend you to add Arnold Fruchtenbaum’s Footsteps of the Messiah and also read his short articles published on the Ariel Ministries website:

    (Part 1 of 2: Pages 20 to 23)

    http://www.ariel.org/pdf/mag-spr-sum2012.pdf

    (Part 2 of 2: Pages 8 to 11)

    http://www.ariel.org/pdf/mag-fall2012.pdf

    Also John Whitcomb has written good theological works specifically on this area. Fruchtenbaum refers a lot to his work, and here are some sources:

    http://www.middletownbiblechurch.org/proph/templemi.htm

    A videoed talk, I have included Part 1 of 5 here, the rest should be available from YouTube:

  6. For further information, the material in The Footsteps of the Messiah by Fruchtenbaum is on pages 450 to 463. Another work by Fruchtenbaum is his Israelology: The Missing Link in Systematic Theology and he recaps the same issue much more briefly on pages 810 to 813. This work looks mainly at the issue of Israelology as a theological concept throughout the entire the Bible and the relationships between Israel and the Church, so there is a lot of background contexts from the previous chapters.

    Also J. Dwight Pentecost’s Things to Come has a whole chapter on this issue. Chapter 12, “Worship in the Millennium” on pages 512 to 531.

  7. Agreed. Allis has probably presented the strongest anti-dispensational and amillennial argument anywhere I have seen. Most of the contemporary Reformed/Covenantal/NCT amillennial authors are just re-presenting Allis’ argument but none has gone further than him.

    There are non-Calvinist amillennial angles: I don’t know much about the Methodist/Wesleyan angle (in fact the Methodist clergy I have known are all pan-mils or premillennialists!) From the Lutheran perspective, I suggest Wilbert R. Gawrisch’s Eschatological Prophecies and Current Misinterpretations: Five Lectures on the End-Times (published by the Wisconsin Lutheran Seminary). This is from the WELS (Wisconsin synod Lutherans), which is confessionally Lutheran and you cannot be a member there if you are not amillennial. Gawrisch probably presents a more deep-layman type of description. See more here:

    http://www.geocities.ws/questioningamillennialism/index-2.htm

  8. Pingback: Interpreting Ezekiel’s Temple Vision | hipandthigh

  9. Yeah, great suggestions Joel, The Footsteps of the Messiah and Israelology are both terrific works. I didn’t know about the videos by Whitcomb though. Thanks.

    I was just talking about him to my wife a few hours ago because I heard him on Brannon Howse’s radio show where he answers biblical questions. He’s something like 88 years old and just as sharp as a whip.

    One could only hope to be like that at 88!

  10. Pingback: Literally Reading Ezekiel 40-48 | hipandthigh

  11. Pingback: Studies in Eschatology | hipandthigh

  12. Pingback: Animal Sacrifices in Ezekiel 40-48 | hipandthigh

  13. Pingback: Studies in Ezekiel’s Temple Vision | hipandthigh

Leave me a Comment

