Theological Resources

Probably a lot of my regular visitors have been made aware of a new website endeavor put together by the key ministries of our pastor and church: The Master’s College, The Master’s Seminary, Grace Community Church, and Grace to You. It is a massive resource hub that combines all of the on-line media content and other theological resources at one location under the simple title,

Theological Resources

The site has been active for a few weeks now, but John officially plugged it this past Sunday morning during the announcements and so I thought I would draw folks attention to it.

There are a number of particularly awesome things with this site. First is the fact you can access 40 plus years of John MacArthur’s preaching from Grace to You in audio format for FREE! Of course, you all probably knew that already.

BUT THAT’S NOT ALL!

You can also access the numerous chapel messages of not only the Master’s Seminary, but also the the Master’s College. The college chapel is especially cool because on many occasions a number of well-known speakers will preach like recently Doug Wilson and Sinclair Ferguson.

BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!,

In addition to the audio messages, the Master’s Seminary is doing what a number of other seminaries have started and is video recording all the seminary lectures and slowly adding them to the site.  John’s vision (not that new agey “vision casting” vision that nutters like Bob Johnson accuse John of practicing) is to have a major on-line seminary level resource that can be accessed anywhere in the world by students, pastors, and churches who otherwise do not have the ability to leave their country and move all the way to California.

The great thing is that all of that content is available for anyone to access, not just students, so hopefully you all will avail yourselves of it.

10 thoughts on “Theological Resources

  1. Great and magnificent resources Fred. I just finished listening to John’s (MacArthur) sermon of Feb. 17th on ‘Divine Sovereignty and Human Responsibility’. I gotta tell ya, it’s raised some interesting questions in my mind. If these are twin truths that are mysteries to us and cannot be resolved in our minds, both parallel and true, then how does one champion Calvin and that aspect of TULIP which came out of the Synod of Dort against the Remonstrance of the Arminians that even sola fide is a gift of God? In other words, human responsibility and God holding you accountable to ‘choose’ is juxtaposed with divine sovereignty to harden whom He hardens and have compassion on whom He has compassion. One is not then a full 5-point Calvinist is he, or am I misunderstanding something here? Or rather, what aspect of John’s sermon would a Covenant Theologian pastor have trouble with?

  2. Go up to the main post. Click the blue colored words “Theological Resources” You should be immediately sent to the media hub.

  3. Hey Steve, I don’t fully understand your question (not necessarily your fault) but I wanted to venture some input.

    There is one step towards resolution between God’s sovereignty and our responsibility, and it is that God’s worthiness of honor and praise and love exists irrespective of our ability to obey or please him.

  4. Thanks Jared,
    I should point out that I’m a big John MacArthur fan. Always have been since I first heard him preach. He’s also a man of conviction and has steadfastly stood on a 6-day recent mature creation despite the current trend in the Church of today to accommodate evolution or old earth views.

    Since writing my post above I have listened to his sermon of Jan. 27th, “God’s Role in Regeneration”, and it has clarified some things for me. I plan to listen to the other sermons in this series. My confusion comes from John’s statement in the Feb. 17th sermon that divine sovereignty and human responsibility can’t be resolved, so stop trying to resolve it. Live with it, both are true.

    A 5-point Calvinist would not take this position the way John framed it. I’m not sure the Synod of Dort and its canons would agree with how John framed it. Am I wrong in this? That’s my question.

  5. Steve writes,
    A 5-point Calvinist would not take this position the way John framed it. I’m not sure the Synod of Dort and its canons would agree with how John framed it. Am I wrong in this? That’s my question.

    I probably would not have framed my discussion on this topic like John did either, but he is not off the rails with how he articulated his stance. What he is merely attempting to do is shape his theology on this matter from the text of scripture. It is just clear that God is sovereign in that He decrees His purposes and uses human means to accomplish those purposes.

    For instance in Acts 2:22,23 Peter says that it was the Romans and the Jews who were ordained by God to crucify Christ and yet God still holds them guilty for that act. We understand those two truths as being compatible and we try not to say more than the text says or less as well. I think that is why John took the position he did on the matter.

  6. Fred,
    I’m not sure what I might have done that you choose not to answer me in the first person. Be that as it may brother, I enjoy your posts, and I thank you for your response.

  7. Huh? I didn’t mean anything nor did you do anything. I’m just trying to be precise with my response. Sorry it came across that way.

  8. First, sorry I didn’t grasp the heart of your question, you framed it better for me. I was confused because I see resolution of sovereignty and responsibility as peripheral to the 5-Points. They are what is found in scripture and exist as first order. Understanding them is secondary to their existence. By proper definition, a strict 5-pointer is only one who affirms these truths, where a tradition derived definition, as you have noted, may impose more restrictions.

    So, if I had to guess his purpose for the statement “divine sovereignty and human responsibility can’t be resolved, so stop trying to resolve it” is that John MacArthur is not satisfied with the traditional philosophical reasoning which is used to fill the gaps of divine revelation. But on the subject of historical canons, I really am ignorant, so do not have that perspective to inform me.

    On your comment, “A 5-point Calvinist would not take this position the way John framed it,” I am reminded of one thing about John MacArthur: he blazes his own trail with his convictions. I think most 5-point calvinists would reject much of John’s teaching simply due to tradition.

    Thanks Steve for the discourse.

Leave me a Comment

