Happy Blogaversary

moniterToday I start my 9th year of blogging.

On the afternoon of May 31st, 2005, sort of on a whim, I opened up a Blogger account and posted my first blog post. It was an intro post outlining who I was and so forth. You can read it here if you want.

I wrote up a longer blogaversary post reflecting on my blogging career that highlights my philosophy and objectives with blogging.  It sums up well my thoughts of today.  It can be read here.

Regardless of my stats, hits, influence, and all the other stuff tech folks claim is important in maintaining a successful blog, I can confidently say I have remained consistent and true to my convictions. I never had to close down my blog and attempt to erase my presence from the internet because of some personal scandal or theological paradigm shift that took me outside the bounds of biblical orthodoxy, and for that I am grateful.

The only major change for me this past year was moving from my old Blogger platform to WordPress. You can read about my adventures with that here.  I was hesitant and nervous about doing such a major leap, but it all worked out swimmingly and I thank long time blog reader and internet pal, PD Nelson, for begging me to make the switch. That was probably the best decision I ever made — apart from marrying my wife.

Even though family duties, work oriented obligations, and ever increasing ministry opportunities have slowed down my writing, I have no desire to stop blogging and look forward to a fun-filled 9th year.

Thanks to all you little people.

11 thoughts on “Happy Blogaversary

  1. Your site is one of my favorites. You have helped me with questions I have ask you by email. I really apreicate you an all your sites. I am currently in Turkey on a tour of the seven churches of Revelation and Paul’s second massionary journey. Congradulations Brother Fred

  2. Happy blog-aversary Fred I’ve enjoyed your work over the years despite our disagreement about eschatology. I look forward to future insights D.V. as you continue to blog especially now that you’ve gone to WordPress.

  3. Happy anniversary Fred,

    Here’s hoping in your 9th year you get your priorities straight, I mean, seriously… “family duties, work oriented obligations, and ever increasing ministry opportunities”… and THEN writing for US on this blog?!? What’s up with that? ;-)

  4. I am glad you are still here! I have learned from you and I have referred many to your blog for good teaching on many subjects and sometimes just for good entertaining writing. Thanks so much!

  5. Fred – Thank you, you encourage more of us silent majority out here than you will probably ever know this side of eternity. May God bless you as abundantly for the next 9 as he has for this 9.

  6. Thank you so much for this blessed messages and are strengthening me much. Evangelist Babu

Leave me a Comment

