Reymond: An Essential Reader

reymondI imagine many of my regular readers are aware of the passing of Presbyterian minister and theologian, Dr. Robert Reymond. The announcement was made late last week. I only knew him through his fabulous writing, specifically a number of his key theological works. If I were asked who my favorite theologians are, he would easily be in the top five of my list.

If you have not availed yourself of his material, you are missing out on an immense blessing. He has written a lot. As well as preached a lot. In fact, at the Aquila Report link above, they not only link to a list of his written resources, but they also have links to a collection of his sermons. It would be worth checking out.

I thought I would highlight the key works that have ministered to me and share them with a wider audience who may not have read them.

A New Systematic Theology  Dr. Reymond is probably best known for his systematic theology.  It is by far my favorite of all the systematics I have read over the years. Sure you have to wade through his Presbyterian hang-ups with infant baptism, covenant theology, and even eschatology, but that is primarily the last one third of the book. The first two thirds are rock solid.  His treatment on divine revelation and the justification of knowledge is one of the best I have read as he argues persuasively for a presuppositional approach. His study of God is outstanding, especially his views of creation, the divine decrees, Christ, and the Holy Spirit. Of course, his calvinistic presentation of soteriology is nearly unrivaled.

I am not sure if the print edition is available anymore. A Kindle version seems to be, though.  As I understand it, Thomas Nelson has done the Christian world a disservice by letting it go out of print. That is sad, because Nelson put together a handsome volume for this magnum opus. The binding was smooth and the paper was thin, but not cheap thin, which allowed a 1200 page book to fit nicely under one cover. Just holding it you knew it had authority.  By all means, if you can secure it, do so.

Jesus: Divine Messiah. This is probably my second favorite work by Dr. Reymond. Not only is this book a valuable biblical study on the person of Jesus in both testaments, It is also one of the absolute best apologetic works on the subject a Christian can get.  I have referenced it numerous times over the years when I have taught on the person and work of Jesus Christ. The fact that there is an opportunist on Amazon trying to sell a copy of this book for 200 bucks suggests to me that Mentor Press has also allowed it to go out of print. Shame on them if that is the case.

Paul: Missionary Theologian A excellent study on the life of the apostle Paul that is not only educational in that Dr. Reymond attempts to lay out the missionary endeavors of Paul in a chronological fashion with the book of Acts, but it is also has a warm, devotional touch that encourages the reader.  I don’t agree with all of his theology he presents, particularly the replacement theology, but the overall value of the book eclipses those shortcomings.

Contending for the Faith A collection of essays, articles, and lectures by Dr. Reymond highlighting important themes in Christian theology on a variety of subjects.

Faith’s Reasons for Believing: An Antidote to Mindless Christianity. This is something of a re-print and expansion of a much earlier book Reymond wrote on apologetics called “The Justification of Knowledge.” It has seemed to have flown under the radar of a number of apologetic bloggers, because I rarely see it referenced or recommended by them. The book takes the biblical approach of presuppositionalism and deals with why we know what we know, how does the Bible reveal God, the work of the spirit in revelation, and interacts with B.B. Warfield’s classic evidentialism. He also talks about the importance of evidences and the biblical evidence we should present to unbelievers.  The only draw back about the book is that it was poorly made. The first copy I had began to fall apart with in a day after I got it. I had to take it back and replace it with a new copy, but it too, though after a few weeks, began to come loose at the pages. Hopeful the publishers have fixed that problem with later editions.

Dr. Reymond has written a lot more, and I am sure those other works have tremendous value in them. The books I mention here are the ones that had the most profound influence upon my thinking and the way I convey theological truth, particular his systematic work and his book of Jesus as messiah. I thank God for this blessing to His Church, and hopefully I can pass along his legacy to future readers who will be just as equally impacted by his teaching.

8 thoughts on “Reymond: An Essential Reader

  1. Thank you for posting the resources. I look forward to the blessings that await when I get the opportunity to read and listen to Pastor Reymond’s good works. And I especially thank you Fred, with sincere gratitutde, for yours.

  2. He came to speak several times at my former church (before I joined) and my pastor spoke highly on his systematics text – which is how I ended up learning from it. Was sad to hear of his passing but comforted by the reality that he’s now collecting his eternal reward.

  3. Even though Dr. Reymond held doctrinal positions dissimilar to my own that you mentioned, viz. infant baptism, covenant theology and differences in eschatology, it is still a great thing to be able to have an easy fellowship around the person of Jesus Christ and the essentials of the Christian faith. Unfortunately,there are those who major on minor matters, get their hackles up, and find insurmountable doctrinal differences.where they really shouldn’t. (To clarify, I’m not talking about you, Fred.)

  4. Really? They let the New Systematic Theology go out of print? That’s a commentary on the state of evangelical theological thinking. I differ from Reymond in many places, but I rate his book above Grudem! FYI ;-)

  5. “New Systematic Theology” is definitely out of print. Still available from Amazon Affiliate merchants (and other places, no doubt). See here and here.

  6. Pingback: Late September 2013 Presuppositional apologetics Links | The Domain for Truth

  7. Pingback: Weekly Links (10/4/2013) | LBC Beacon

Leave me a Comment

