MacArthur’s Millennial Manifesto Revisited

The recent dust up among Reformed acquaintances on social media reminded me of a series of posts I wrote up nearly 6 or 7 years ago interacting with Sam Waldron’s little book, MacArthur’s Millennial Manifesto. It was a short review and critique of John’s 2007 Shepherd’s Conference keynote address, Why Every Self-Respecting Calvinist Should Be a Premillennialist.

I thought it was a fabulous message because it irritated the folks who needed to be irritated, particularly the  young Reformed bloggers.

Sam Waldron initially went to his blog to offer his rebukes, and then those articles were turned into the book. Somehow a copy found its way to the radio ministry of Grace to You and I snagged it, read it, and wrote up a review and then five rejoinders to one of the key points found in the book.

So going back to the reaction on social media to the terribly made documentary called Let the Lion Roar, my thoughts were steered back to those posts, as well as a number of ones I wrote up on the subject of eschatology. I also plan to remaster them as well, and reformat their appearance for my WordPress blog (I never really did that when I moved from Blogger a couple of years ago) after the new year.

In the meantime, I had a few moments recently and I updated the Sam Waldron rejoinders. I didn’t want to repost them to the front page, but if anyone is interested who began following me in the recent months, here they are in order:

A Review of MacArthur’s Millennial Manifesto

Replacement Theology

Sam is a Dispensational Man

Peace and Mercy …. Upon the Israel of God

For They Are Not All Israel Who are Israel

The Commonwealth of Israel

9 thoughts on “MacArthur’s Millennial Manifesto Revisited

  1. The audio file is “404 not found” on the page you linked to for the Shepherd’s Conf. Is there a way to get it back up on the website?

  2. I sent an email to the “contact us” and hopefully they’ll pass it on to whoever will fix it. I tried several audio files from 2007 conf and all are broken.
    Thank you for your blog! I rarely comment on blogs but I do have yours on my feedly and I read it often. Thank you. :)

Leave me a Comment

