My Top Blogs Christian Leaders Should Be Reading in 2015

So Ed “15 Angry Calvinists” Stetzer plug an article that listed the Top 30 Blogs Christian Leaders Need to Read in 2015. I clicked the link and scanned the suggestions. Nearly all of them I had never heard of, and of the ones I had heard of, like Rick Warren’s Pastors.com, I would never recommend to anyone as a resource being afraid that folks would be led into a spiritual slough of despond if they did so.

The author wrote up a list of criteria he thinks makes the kind of blog a Christian leader needs to read.

He lays out 6 points that identifies a “great” blog.

  • Great blogs provide solutions to the issues Christian leaders face.
  • Great blogs provide inspiration for Christian leaders to keep paying the price to move forward.  A great blog tells you you can and will make it.
  • Great blogs have credibility from being written by proven experts.
  • Great blogs have consistently new content and are worth re-visiting on a regular basis.
  • Great blogs have great content.  It rarely, if ever, disappoints.
  • There are also some bloggers listed below who may be well-known yet but should be on your radar.

Again, none of the blogs listed really match the criteria he lays out here. In fact, he list’s Perry Noble’s blog under those criteria and people would only get stupider if they read it on a regular basis.

With that list in mind, I thought I would offer up my own suggestions of blogs I think would be of greater benefit for Christian leaders to read than any of the ones mentioned. Furthermore, I think my list matches, if not excels over, the stated criteria for a “great” blog. They are all an inspiration, are written by proven experts, and have consistently new content that is worth revisiting. In fact, the content is actually helpful in that it addresses issues and makes a statement of committed, biblical clarity rather than some lame, wishy-washy “let’s build a consensus” conclusion.

Probably the only thing different about my list is the last item in the criteria. None of the bloggers are particularly “well-known.” There are a few, maybe; but even they are marginalized or ignored. If they happen to blog in some prescient fashion on a subject that makes them unpopular, say like the disaster that was Mark Driscoll, and when their warnings come to fruition, their detractors wonder why no one previously ever wrote about those problems. If they raise their hand and say, “we did,” then they are accused of gloating.

My list is in no particular order and may not be entirely comprehensive. Meaning, I may miss a few good ones here and there.

Pyromaniacs Originally started by Phil Johnson who is the executive director of Grace to You radio ministries. Now maintained by Dan Phillips and Frank Turk and the occasional reposts of the best of Phil, who retired from blogging a couple years ago. The writing is engaging, pithy, biblical.

The blog always has great content, never disappoints, should be a must read for any biblical leader.

The Cripplegate A consortium of writers, most of who are students and graduates of the Master’s Seminary. A number of them currently pastor full-time. They cover a full range of subjects of interest to the average pastor, like problematic doctrinal issues, book reviews, and even once an article about shaving.

Alpha and Omega Ministries The blog showcasing the ministry of apologist James White, who has written a number of important books that every leader should read or at least have ready access in their library when they are confronted by apologetic issues like engaging Muslims with the Gospel or interacting with fanatical King James Only advocates.

His twice-weekly Dividing Line podcast ought to be on the rotation play list of all serious-minded believers.

Canon Fodder The blog of Michael J. Kruger who is swiftly becoming one of the leading scholars on early NT textual studies. His books are top notch and must reads for all Christian leaders.

Detroit Baptist Theological Seminary The blog where the profs and grads of DBTS provide excellent articles on a variety of topics from a fundamental, evangelical Baptist perspective. Their journal is outstanding, also.

Domain of Truth Ran by Jimmy Lee, a TMS grad and pastor in SoCal. He and the contributors he has assembled provide a number of excellent apologetic resources, including his weekly links highlighting the better blog articles addressing presuppositional apologetics. You will also find insightful reviews of books and links to wonderful, but otherwise unknown theological sermons, lectures, and series.

Shadow to Light I just recently started reading this blog around Christmas time. Not sure who the author is, but the emphasis is upon interacting with and exposing the “new atheism” of such notables as Richard Dawkins and Sam Harris. There is lots of good stuff here. A tremendous resource for the youth pastor or pastor who may have some youth apostate and become angry church haters after attending their first semester at state college.

Dr. Reluctant The blog of Paul Henebury, who is a masterful writer on various theological subjects. He also runs Telos Ministries, where folks can find lots of excellent resources in print and audio.

MennoKnight The blog where you will find the insightful, witty, and always fun writing of Lyndon Unger. He also blogs at Cripplegate.

Gatestone Institute It is more of a website, but the writers/reporters talk about the state of the world outside of the US. Their particular focus is Europe. A great site for us soft Americans who tend to live in a bubble when it comes to events in the world.

Answers in Genesis and Creation Ministries International Sister ministries with the focus upon the worldviews of creationism and evolution. Not only do they keep the crucial issue of origins in the forefront, but both ministries consistently address it with clarity, fact, and Scripture. Some of the best apologetic material you can get when confronting skepticism in the church.

Triablogue I have had my tussles over the last year or so with Steve Hays, the principle writer at Triablogue, but in spite of our profound disagreements with each other, he and his team consistently put out good material that is challenging and polemic in defense of biblical Christianity. His atheist take downs are always worth visiting.

16 thoughts on “My Top Blogs Christian Leaders Should Be Reading in 2015

  1. Nice to see that despite your differences that you still consider Triablogue one of the must read blogs. I been feeling conflicted when you and Steve Hays go hammer and tongs at each other.

  2. May I echo keachfan’s comment? I found it very discouraging when teampyro downgraded their link to triablogue due to disagreement between you and Steve Hays over the ‘gifts’. I’ve benefitted over the years from Pyro (less so more recently), but they did themselves no favour in what they did, frankly making themselves look petty and unable to cope with reasoned argument against their own position. Not very edifying. They went down a font or two in my estimation! So well done to you for seeing beyond one area of disagreement.

    Just occasionally Steve Hays goes a bit over the top, but I thoroughly enjoy his taking apart of so much that passes for reasoned argument againts the faith, and have found the site very edifying in my own thinking.

    Who ‘wins’ in some of these intra-Christian discussions may often be less important than the way in which they were conducted.

  3. On the contrary, I still find Steve’s views of the gifts to be foolish, indefensible in accord with the reality of things, and over all, woefully out of touch with the disastrous influence Pentecostalism and charismatic theology has upon Christians. I agree with the Pyro guys that there was nothing particularly reasonable with what he attempted to defend, and his reaction to SF and the pushback I gave him in particular, was troubling. BTW, I wrote a number of responses to his articles, none of them were “reasoned” in rebuttal? Are you suggesting that at no time Steve didn’t appear petty? Really?

    At any rate, I think there was more to their “downgrading” than just his articles in defense of charismania, but I am not entirely privy to those items.

    Having said all of that, however, when Steve is right about something, he is a formidable defender of the faith, that is the value I see in his writing.

  4. Fred, thanks for the list. I’ll have to check some of these out (some are already bookmarked).

    Sorry for veering somewhat off topic here…you can chastise me if needed.

    As for Ed Stetzer, I already had a hard enough time dealing with him based upon what he has written on his blog and in tweets before the whole LifeWay mess with “The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven” mess. Add this list on top of that, and I don’t know what to make of the guy. I really think fear of man and the love of money seem to cause a lot of problems within the realm of Christian publishing.

  5. It would be a pity if your willingness to see beyond an area of disagreement got lost in the Pyro/Hays issue. I found it most encouraging! (The willinness, that is.)

    I don’t think Steve is a card-carrying charismatic, but I did think him right from what I can remember of the exchange to criticise the cessationalist side for using atheist arguments against the faith; ‘why doesn’t God heal amputees’ coming to mind.

    I’m not at all implying your side of the exchange wasn’t reasoned, the ‘petty’ comment was how I perceived Pyro at the time (strongly so), not you or Steve. I’ve happily read Pyro a lot for years, and note you still recommned them, but I noticed over time, particularly with Phil gone, a certain arrogance creeping in. I still visit occasionally, but am a bit more wary now. I have no problem with Dan Phillips calling out fakes and flakes, but his ‘Da gifts’ attitude sounds like mockery and I’ve got tired of it. I may be wrong, but what comes across to me after years of reading them is that winning the arguments has now taken priority over getting at the truth.

  6. I hesitate to even say anything about this, because knowing him, he is more than likely going to find this comment and make an entire post out of it by this afternoon, which I just really don’t want to have to mess with.

    His claim that we were arguing like atheists was a lame strawman argument. At no time did anyone in the MacArthur camp, as he derided us, argued in such a way. Our argument was quite simply, the claims of miraculous healings, would be of the same quality and undeniability as they were recorded in the NT. He never dealt at all with our challenges along this fashion, and would just ridicule and appeal to Keener’s questionable research. It was just assumed that because it was voluminous and heavily footnoted, he had unassailable arguments and proofs, which was hardly the case.

    Don’t really have an opinion about Pyro. I love the blog because I personally know the fine men who write for it. I don’t perceive the hint of arrogance at all.

  7. “On the contrary, I still find Steve’s views of the gifts to be foolish, indefensible in accord with the reality of things, and over all, woefully out of touch with the disastrous influence Pentecostalism and charismatic theology has upon Christians.”

    Steve Hays has criticized much of Pentecostalism as well as charismatic theology over on Triablogue.

    He’s also criticized cessationism including the cessationism of the Pyromaniacs.

    Judging by what I’ve read, I’d say both represent unfortunate extremes.

  8. As an epilogue, having quickly skimmed the Hays v MacArthurville correspondence, you came out of it well – Hays liked the fact you argue for your position.

    That aside, blogs can be useful places to viist, but can become places of confirmation bias, and also lead Christians into what I call instant Internet expertise. A quick read of wikipaedia and you know all about a subject. So to a quick read of an article or two and you know all about a certain doctrine – something that pervious generations required years of thinking about. Looking up ‘the Greek’ online can never be a substitute for the effort needed to actually learn it.

    I’m a bit suspicious of thinking Christian maturity can be speeded up this way, and some blogs and commentators show distinct signs of ‘knowledge puffing up’ or trying to box above their weight!

  9. After poking around on Shadow to Light for a while (I read a pile of articles after you linked to the Sam Harris article) I think the author is a Roman Catholic theistic evolutionist. I did enjoy his stuff on new atheism enough that I bookmarked it, though.

  10. For the record, I respect the Triablogue guys too. They’re all definitely a strikingly intelligent bunch of fellows who are on top form when dealing with the atheists, among other things.

    When the whole Strange Fire meltdown was going on, I was surprised how “out of form” Steve seemed. I’ve since imagined that there were other factors at play that resulted in Steve going a little goofy. He got fairly uncharacteristically rude and insulting with me, and he seemed to not be tracking with some of what was said. Even the best of us can have “a moment” at times though.

    Seeing that I’ve been on heavy anti-viral drugs off and on for 2 years and let my tongue go a few times, I’ve needed a boatload of grace at times myself.

    I hope Steve will let me buy him lunch if ever we meet.

Leave me a Comment

