The Anderson-White Discussion

Last year, October 2013 or so, I received an email from a guy named Steve Anderson who asked me if I would be interested in being interviewed for a documentary he was making on the King James Bible. He told me up front that he was a King James onlyist and wanted to find individuals who were in the opposite camp so he can represent their position fairly and accurately by letting them speak for themselves.

The name Steve Anderson didn’t really click with me at first. I had to Google him, and when I saw who it was, everything came together in my mind: Steve Anderson! The pissing pastor!

For those of you who may be new to Steve Anderson, he is something of a IFB KJVO wonder kid sensation. A few years ago, he posted a video snippet of one of his sermons in which he goes on a rant regarding the text from 1 Samuel 15:22 about cutting off all the males who “pisseth against the wall” as the Hebrew idiom is translated in the KJV.  It was spectacular. It launched Steve’s career as a go to Youtube viral fundy crackpot for all the wrong reasons. I wrote about the pissing sermon if anyone cares to read it.

The KJV-only He-Man Woman Haters Club

Needless to say, once I found out who the Steve Anderson was who was making the documentary, I wasn’t too keen on participating with its production. My fear was that I would get railroaded and made to look like a fool at the backend of the editing process. So I declined the invitation.

But I did ask him why he hadn’t asked James White. Both of them live in the Phoenix metro area, and James wrote probably the definitive book on the subject of KJV onlyism. Steve replied that James was gone for a few months out of country.  A few months? He was like in South Africa for a couple weeks. I corrected Steve’s misconceptions about James’s travel schedule and told him to at least give it a shot.

A few days later, when I listened to the Dividing Line radio program, James announced that he was going to be doing an interview with Steve Anderson on a documentary about the King James.  I thought wow! My suggestion worked.

They met, and the discussion lasted for almost three hours. Just small sections of it made it into the finished documentary. At the behest of James, Steve released the entire raw discussion. I have only heard snippets, but it provides us a great opportunity to learn how to interact with KJV only apologetics,

The Full Anderson and White Interview

 

6 thoughts on “The Anderson-White Discussion

  1. Fred,

    This was such a difficult interview to listen to. I found myself at the end both deeply saddened that such a zealous, bright, well-spoken man as Anderson can be so sadly and desperately deceived, and yet renewed with joy that God has given the church such a glorious gift in James White, whose patience and kindness throughout the interview was so inspiring and challenging to me.

    I pray God would change Steve’s heart, that his eyes might be opened to the glories of the gospel and that he might be set free from bondage to his own pride and to the traditions of men.

  2. Anderson: “I’m being consistent with my presupposition!”
    In my mind, I’m thinking, “Bro, being consistent with false and stupid presuppositions is no virtue.”

  3. Wow. That was an eye opening interview. Hearty thanks to you and to White for taking the time to refute this nonsense. It baffles me that otherwise rational persons can hold to such irrational views. Although I guess that is one upside to KJOism, proof of the noetic effects of the fall.

    One thought that occurred to me. Anderson was strongly semi-Pelagian, and the other KJOists that you interacted with seem to lean that way as well. Do you think that that doctrinal tendency among KJOists just an anomaly or is it is widespread enough to be considered systematic?

  4. Semi Pelagianism is pretty much wide spread through the entire movement. The way KJVO apologist lie against historical Calvinism and Calvinists is part of what God used to get me out of the apologetic.

  5. In my experience most KJVOs are Independant Fundamental Baptists (as Anderson is), and Free Presbyterians (think Ian Paisley). Obviously the Free Presbyterians are Calvinist, but most Independant Fundamental Baptist Churches embrace some sort of semi-Pelagian or semi-Arminian soteriology. I was introduced to KJVO and this soteriology in IFB churches shortly after I was saved and can sympathize with Fred’s statement about lies against historic Calvinism. By God’s grace my eyes were opened to the truth of both these issues in the last couple of years.

    The one who states his case first seems right, until the other comes and examines him. – Proverbs 18:17

Leave me a Comment